New 2018 Season commences on 6th February

The new 2018 season commences on the 6th February 2018 with a Senior Men’s Division 1 clash between City of Bristol Barbarians versus City of Bristol Harlequins. The league have said that the two games between these two teams from the same club have to take place prior to any other fixtures, which commence from the 11th February, so that they can have no influence on the outcome of the league.

There are four new senior men’s teams entered this year, so the divisions have changed. The Premier Division has been introduced with seven teams competing, Welsh Wanderers will be looking to defend their title against City of Bristol, Exeter, Frome, Newton Abbot, Newport and Cheltenham Spartans.


In Division 1, City of Bristol Harlequins, who won Division 2 in 2017, will be competing against City of Bristol Barbarians, Devonport Royal, Cwm Draig, Swindon Dolphins and Weston-super-Mare.

The four new teams have been placed in Division 2. The teams competing are Bath University, Bradford on Avon, Taunton Deane, Newport II, South Gloucestershire and Swansea.

There are six women’s team in their division, with Cheltenham defending their title against Newton Abbot, Exeter, City of Bristol, Welsh Wanderers and Cwm Draig.

In the Junior Division, Newton Abbot will defend their title won in 2017 against newcomers Taunton Deane, and City of Bristol, Cwm Draig, Newport, Welsh Wanderers, Devonport and Exeter.

Good luck to all teams.

Please remember that you can download this year’s match sheets from this website on the fixtures page.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.