Last year’s Premier League title-winners draw with runner-ups

By | February 21, 2020

Runner-ups in the Premier League in 2019 played Cheltenham Spartans, winners of last year’s Premier League, in a tight match at Cardiff International Pool.

In the opening period the home side stormed into a commanding 3-0 lead through Jenkins-Doff, Pittick and Carter.

Rudi Polster got the visitors off the mark at the start of the second period, but Wanderers netted a further two goals through Gilmour and Laxton to take them 5-1 ahead. However Cheltenham narrowed the league with goals from Berry and Waller to finish the period 5-3.

Laxton netted his second at the start of the third period, only to see Walsh pull it back to 6-4 through a penalty conversion, and then Polster grabbed a second to put the visitors within one goal of Wanderers’ lead.

In an exciting finish Cheltenham scored twice through Morgan Wells and Polster to go ahead 6-7, but a second goal by Griffiths saw Wanderers rescue two points with just six seconds left on the clock and finish with level at 7-all.